## **ENERGY COMMISSION**

TOWN HALL 238 Danbury Road Wilton, CT 06897

203-563-0100



Debra Thompson-Van *Co-Chairman* Richard Creeth Co-Chairman Peter Wrampe *Vice Chairman* Bruce Hampson Gil Bray Patrice Gillespie Christina Lampe-Onnerud Glenn Hemmerle

## WILTON ENERGY COMMISSION Meeting, Wednesday February 24, 2016 Library, Presidents Room 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm Minutes

**Members Present:** Debra Thompson-Van, Richard Creeth, Peter Wrampe , Patrice Gillespie, Christina Lampe-Onnerud, Gil Bray, Bruce Hampson **Members Absent :** Glenn Hemmerle, Chris Burney (Guest)

Guests : Jana Bertkau- WGG, Gil Hollander- candidate for WEC

- 1. Debra Thompson-Van called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm
- 2. Bruce Hampson moved and Peter Wrampe seconded a motion to approve the minutes of the January 27, 2015 meeting. An update was made by Patrice Gillespie and agreed.
- 3. It was agreed that new sub-committees would be established to lead specific ongoing/new initiatives. Each Sub-Committee will prepare the following:
  - a. Scope of initiative
  - b. Timeline
  - c. Goals and Benefits expected
  - d. Deliverables
- 4. For now, we have agreed the following subcommittees:
  - a. Clean Energy Communities program: Richard Creeth, Bruce Hampson and Patrice Gillespie. For this subcommittee, we discussed including the current benchmark data and it's role going forward, the commitments and attainment against the Clean Energy Communities objectives, the expenditures of the award monies (\$14,500), new energy efficiency ideas working with Chris Burney
  - Economic Development Committee support: Gil Bray, Debra Thompson-Van, Bruce Hampson, Peter Wrampe, Gil Hollander (guest). For this subcommittee, we discussed how Wilton is already a CT State leader for Energy programs and how that may be leveraged for branding, marketing, and

business recruitment purposes. These participants agreed to and have met on March 9 to document the potential contribution and some ideas that could add value. The output of this meeting is a presentation that will be made to the Economic Development committee in a future meeting to solicit their requirements and thoughts.

- c. Marketing Subcommittee: Christina Lampe-Onnerud, Debra Thompson-Van, Peter Wrampe and Becky Bunnell (WGG). This subcommittee is meeting on March 14 at 7pm and it's purpose to agree steps to improve the awareness of the Value of Energy initiatives for and to the town of Wilton. We discussed improving the website, education and informational programs delivered.
- d. Home Energy Solutions: Jana Bertkau, Patrice Gillespie, and Debra Thompson-Van. It was agreed we would continue the program as is. Deliverables are being updated by Eversource; a new HES vendor would be identified and approved by the September educational series. Work TBD.
- e. Solarize Wilton- Debra Thompson-Van, Peter Wrampe, Richard Creeth, Jana Bertkau (guest), Patrice Gillespie, will continue to lead the efforts as defined within that project through it's completion. This subcommittee will meet at the conclusion of the program to determine what additional Renewable Energy programs will continue throughout 2016. Debra summarized an update, including the metrics, events, and upcoming events.
- f. C-Pace: The commercial business energy initiatives, in specific C-Pace were discussed, but no resources have been assigned at this time.
- 5. We agreed for now we would not add the role of "Secretary". The minutes will be handled by the co-Chair or Vice-Chair. We also agreed we would not add a role of "Marketing" or "Finance" leader, but there were strong views on why formalizing these last 2 roles would make good sense. TBC at a future meeting.
- 6. Meeting adjourned at 9:00 pm. Moved by Peter Wrampe and seconded by Christina Lampe-Onnerud.